Race Recap: Pretty Muddy!

These mud runs just keep getting better and better!

After doing Warrior Dash a few weeks ago, I jumped at the chance to give Pretty Muddy a shot.
Even better, my friend, Kate, decided to join me! Pretty Muddy Columbus went down at Mad River Mountain, a ski resort about 45 minutes outside of the city.

I know what you’re thinking.

Yes, Ohio has ski resorts.

Moving right along…

We were running in the 10:30 heat and arrived around 9:45. We picked up our bibs and t-shirts, dropped off our gear bags and took a look up the mountain. Holy moly, it was hilly! I knew it was at a ski resort, but the fact that we’d be running UP the ski slope somehow escaped me.

As we lined up at the start line, the emcee did a great job getting everyone energized, loose, and limber before the heats started. The music was pumping, and we were ready to rock!

The horn blared, and we took off up the mountain.

HOLY HILLY.

The first obstacle was a “car-wash” type of deal that had us running through a big old pile of puddles. Each obstacle had a snow-maker spewing water everywhere – a slip and slide, cargo net climbs, over-under obstacles, mud pits, and my favorite? A giant inflatable slide that ended in a mud pit.

So. Much. Fun.

Kate and I had an absolute BLAST, but I must say, my ankles were killing my by the end! We crossed the finish line and couldn’t wait to turn in our free drink tickets – a free glass of Moscato? Don’t mind if I do!

Kate and I enjoyed our well-earned drinks while taking it all in – they had a great cover band playing, and we warmed up by a fire before changing out of our muddy clothes.

A tip for all you mud runners? I honestly thought it was much better to let the mud dry a bit and then simply change out of my dirty clothes rather than rinse off. On a hot day, it wouldn’t have been bad, but we were pretty chilly thanks to lower than normal temperatures, and couldn’t stand the thought of an icy cold rinse off.

Overall, I thought PRetty Muddy definitely stacks up to the competition. I actually found it much more challenging and much more wet than Warrior Dash thanks to the hilly location and the snow-makes – had it been a hot day, it would have been wonderful to cool off at every obstacle!

I’m grateful to have been a part of the first Columbus Pretty Muddy – check out their website for more locations, and check it out if you get the chance!

Disclosure: I was comped a free entry to Pretty Muddy by the race organizers in exchange for an honest review. As always, all statements and opinions are my own.

Leave a Reply

