My Hips Don’t Lie

I may have made it through back-to-back half marathons with 2 consecutive PRs, but my hips don’t lie…

I’ve been slacking on strength training.

I admit it. For the past two weeks, I’ve only strength trained once a week during my personal training session, and my hips and knees can tell the difference.

I ran a slow 4 with a couple running buddies the day after the Air Force Half and noticed some mild IT Band irritation. Then, I ran a speedier 5 around the neighborhood, and it was still there. Then, I did almost 5 on trails, and sure enough… still there.

Now, it’s nothing too crazy, but definitely noticeable, and I need to kick it in the butt before it gets out of hand – not to mention, I’m missing my strength training time like WHOA.

So, what did I do?

I hit the gym and blasted my hips & glutes, naturally!

Oh, and I threw in some shoulders for good measure, since they’re my weak spot. I did 3-4 sets of 8-10, depending on weight and ended up feeling a pretty decent burn by the end!

I can’t even tell you how great it felt to be back in the gym. It’s totally corny, but I really do miss it when I’m gone for too long.

It’s nice to feel back on track and ready to tackle the week!

Leave a Reply

