#Whole30 – Keepin’ It Real

A week(ish) of Paleo eating has come to an end.

Let’s recap, shall we?

Day 1:

What’s the big deal? No, really. How is this hard? The first day rolled by pretty uneventfully. I had a great breakfast of eggs with tomato, onion, bell pepper and some raspberries. Coffee, black. For lunch I had chicken salad made with avocado, green onion, and pepper along with some carrots, grapes, and cherry tomatoes. For a dinner on the run, I had a salad with black olives, grilled salmon, cucumber, tomato, and celery. A day well eaten.

Day 2:

Still not that crazy. I can honestly say I didn’t really experience a “hangover.” This might be because I didn’t go balls to the wall the night before and eat all the things as if it were my last meal. I just cruised along, eating my fair share of meats, veggies, fruits, and coconut products. I had a training out of town, so I stopped at a grocery store along the way and picked up grilled chicken, salsa, and avocado that I threw together. Evening of Day 2, the Huz and I made some killer stuffed orange and red bell peppers with ground beef, onion, zucchini, and egg. I threw in some kale chips and this AWESOME smoothie, to boot…

Day 3:

…rolled around, and I won’t lie- I was starting to feel it. And by it, I mean hunger. I’m not sure how, but I was NOT eating enough. I went to bed hungry Wednesday evening, and tried my best to eat, eat, eat on Thursday but to no avail. I came home after Girls on the Run on Thursday ready to eat a cow. So, that’s what I did.

The Huz (who was being quite the trooper about my hunger-fueled tirades) and I went in search of a big ass steak grilled in olive oil, and I demolished it. Along with some grilled zucchini and smashed cauliflower. I went to sleep satiated, but not after catching a train to full-fledged crazy town, which brings us to…

Day 4:

Kill all the things, indeed. By day 4, I was a certifiably raging hot-mess of crazy. Like, hide the small children kind of crazy. Poor Huz. I still couldn’t seem to contain my hunger on Day 4, either, despite eating for what seemed like all frackin’ day long. Considering the fact that I’m not doing this to lose weight AND that I had big PR hopes, I was more than a little concerned that I was getting enough fuel.

Despite that, I made it through an employee appreciation lunch riddled with goodies like chips, potato salad, baked beans, and (dun, dun, dun!)… brownies unscathed. I also made it through a pre-race dinner without succumbing to the temptation of pasta galore, opting instead for a salad with steak, olive, mushroom, and tomato, hold the gorgonzola, candied pecans, and creamy horseradish dressing and a sweet potato with almond butter.

Day 5:

Day 5. The point where it all unraveled. I awoke on race morning, and trudged downstairs to the #Whole30-friendly race-fuel breakfast I had prepared and packed – my delicious banana pumpkin smoothie with the addition of sweet potato.

In the end, though, I couldn’t bring myself to do it. In my mind, I had 2 choices:

  1. Break the #Whole30 program.
  2. Break the cardinal rule of racing – nothing new on race day.

And so, on Day 5, I broke the #Whole30 program.

With toast smothered in peanut butter, banana on the side.

And no, this wasn’t a slip or an accident. I did not fall face first into a plate of PB toast. With the possibility of a major PR looming in the distance, I just couldn’t risk a major intestinal blowout (pardon the imagery), and considering my past experiences with long-distance races, I consciously chose to play it safe. Yes, you read that right…

#Whole30 and I are done-zo.

This would be where the womp, womp comes in.

(sidenote: Big PR attained! Details to follow…)

I know, I know. I could jump back in and start over at Day 1, but I’m choosing not to.

I was truly miserable for 4 days, and as I said before, I’ve never thought much of eliminating entire food groups – despite good intentions, I know that this kind of diet is unsustainable for me, not even for 30 days. I knew going into this that it would be difficult, especially for me. I don’t do well with strict rules – I can’t help but think that they were made to be broken.

That being said, I did learn a lot in these 4 loooong short days, and I can definitely get behind reducing the amount of grains, dairy, and added sugar that I consume… this I plan to do, for certain.

Do I feel like a failure, or that I gave up?

Honestly? Nope.

I’m just trying to keep it real, and while I appreciate #Whole30, it’s not for me. Despite that, I’m so glad I gave it a shot – a gained some great healthy recipes and new way of thinking about food that I plan to take with me, even if it isn’t quite as perfect as it could be.

Call it what you will, but that I consider a success.

One thought on “#Whole30 – Keepin’ It Real

  1. Pingback: Race Recap: Air Force Half Marathon |

Leave a Reply

