All Quiet on the Homefront… HA!

Things have been noticeably quiet here on One Run at a Time, and for good reason. Quiet time on a blog usually means one of two things: the dreaded blogger’s block, or that”real” life has taken over for the time being. Fear not, this is most definitely a case of the latter!

I prefer not to get too specific about my personal life, including my work, but there’s been some exciting stuff happening on that front that I just HAVE to share with you all!

After searching high and low for over a year and a half, I finally landed a full-time job in my field!

I finished my Masters degrees (yes, plural – I’m one of those people) back in December 2010 and March 2011 respectively and had been actively job searching ever since. Problem is that outdoor and environmental education jobs are much more abundant elsewhere in the country – not so much in central Ohio, and for us, moving wasn’t an option.

While searching, I worked some part-time jobs within the field, gained some experience, and had oodles of time to run and train. Life was great, but I really wanted to land a full-time gig and had every confidence that I was beyond ready for it.

It was extraordinarily frustrating at times, and it often felt like I was being told I wasn’t good enough by people who had no idea what I could really do if given the chance. Of course, now I realize that those countless other jobs weren’t the right fit for me, while this one has “me!” written all over it.

Through it all, I learned that whether we can see it in the moment or not, life takes us to where we need to go, even if we ourselves doubt that.

Now, I find myself in a new challenge – balancing my work life with “life” life. I’ve just started my second full week, and haven’t found the balance quite yet, although I can tell I’m working toward it. My days at work are so full that I often find myself starving by 3pm, only to realize I never ate lunch, and I’m bone tired both in the morning and after work, making consistent workouts a challenge.

So far, I’ve managed to still eat relatively healthy and work out 3-4 times a week, but I definitely want and know I’m capable of more… at some point, that is. This is a big transition for me, even though I had been working 40-50+ hours a week at my previous (and somewhat similar) position, the mindset is very different – I compare it to the mindset of a runner during a short training run as opposed to the mindset it takes be successful in a long run. Because of that, I don’t expect to be able to run and lift as much as I had been, at least not right away.

I’m trying not to be too hard on myself – like I said, I’m still getting in 3-4 good workouts, and I know that once I settle in more and figure out what will work best, that will only improve. But, I also realize that training for a November marathon may not be entirely realistic…

I’ve learned in the past week that if I’m going to have any chance at a successful post-work sweat session, I can’t skip lunch; likewise, if I want to squeeze in a morning workout (which is normally my preference), there needs to be less Extreme Makeover Weight Loss Edition & Bachelorette time and more going to bed early so I can wake up at 5:30am time. 9pm may sound early, but if there’s one thing I know about myself, it’s that if I get less than 8 hours of sleep, I am not a pleasant person to be around. Yes, a full 8 is my minimum. I wish I could function at a socially acceptable level (much less train hard!) on less, but so be it. Early bed times for this chica!

Another complicating factor? I am NOT a summer runner – the idea of running 15 miles never sounds “fun” in the strictest sense of the word, but these days I have absolutely no desire to do that. Short, speedy runs are more my kind of thing theses days… more to come on that later this week (or maybe next…)!

I know that I’m FAR from alone in balancing work and training goals, so

What advice do you all have for me? I want it, I need it! 🙂

2 thoughts on “All Quiet on the Homefront… HA!

  1. First, huge congrats on your new job! That’s awesome!

    And as for balancing work and workouts? One of the things that’s worked the best for myself and my partner is spending part of the weekend cooking meals for the week… prepping a bunch of stuff Sunday night to have on hand, so we dont’ have to deal with cooking during the week. We come home, throw on workout clothes, and go for a run, a yoga workout, weights, whatever. Then, afterwards, it’s heat it up and eat. Otherwise, we end up either not working or eating out, and neither is a great option. (I’m not a morning person, and so, have a hard time getting up to work out at all.)

    Good luck!

  2. Congratulations on the job! It is awesome that you are getting in 3-4 workouts/week while you are just starting out.

    I find that each time I start a new job or my situation changes, I feel more tired/exhausted at the end of each day, and it takes me awhile (usually a month or two) to get into a new routine and back into exercising more regularly. It may be different for everyone, but for me, I know it just takes time.

    One tip I like is putting my workouts on my calendar. Sometimes it can be difficult to leave the office at a time that makes a workout realistic, so having it on my calendar – and scheduling a workout with a friend – can help me to make sure I stick to a plan.

    The other thing that works for me is to pack my workout clothes when I go to work. If I have to come home to change, it’s too easy to get distracted at home (especially if I’m tired), and not make it out the door again. But if I go straight from work to the park or the yoga studio, I’m more likely to get a workout in.

    I’d love to hear any tips that you find work for you too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

