Seasons

Running and fitness definitely have distinct seasons. The first 5 months of the year were focused on taking a huge chunk of time off my marathon PR.

Since then, my training has been much less intense, because… well, because I’m not actually training for anything at the moment.

That’s not to say I haven’t been a busy girl. In the past few weeks, I attempted the Lifetime Fitness Alpha Showdown, made it to Run Club two weeks in a row (makin’ it a Tuesday ritual!), did a great (but sweaty!) long run of 10 miles, and had a pretty awesome double day that started with my very first spin class ever at 5:45am and ended with an hour of heavy lifting with the Trainer at 5:30pm.

That’s in addition to working 9 hour days in the heat, visiting the in-laws to wish my brother-in-law well before his big move to NYC, receiving very exciting career news, GOTR parties and meetings, a couple girls’ nights (and mornings running), and celebrating the marriage of 2 of the most wonderful people I know! Whew!

My running mileage is a fraction of what it once was  – this week, I only ran twice for a grand total of 7 miles, but I also lifted twice and danced my ass off at my dear friend’s wedding, so I’m gonna mark that in the win column regardless.

To complicate the issue further, work makes it difficult to squeeze in those long runs. Being out in the sun for 9 hours drains me of most of my energy. I can muster about an hour’s worth, but beyond that, I’m just not interested. I’m rather impressed with myself that I’ve managed to pull out 5 days of workouts in each of the past 2 weeks, and I’ve also found that I’m enjoying the shorter runs combined with more intense weight training a lot – I’m seeing progress in other areas besides cardio, and my pace on short to medium runs is dropping like crazy.

So, for this season, I think that’s what I’m going to do. Run as often as I feel like it, with the hopes of keeping up with my long runs and staying in good half marathon shape, but focusing on weight training, and just having fun with my workouts. The last 2 weekends I’ve not done a long run because I was spending precious time with loved ones, and while a very small part of my felt a little guilty, I also felt free in knowing that I could skip them and it really wouldn’t matter. I’ve trained hard for distance running for the better part of a year and a half, and while I love it, it feels great to have some breathing space during this season.

I’m registered for 3 half marathons and 1 full marathon in the months of September, October, and November, but I’m going to wait until then to pick back up on the heavy training.

For now, I’m having too much fun in this amazingly full season of my life.

Leave a Reply

