Holy Craziness, Batman!

Life just got a whole heap of crazy in the past week.

Early spring and summer is always my busiest time at work, made even busier this year by other circumstances. Last week, I worked 50 hours including teaching 12 hours of canoeing over the course of 4 days. On top of that, I lifted heavy at personal training for the first time (more to come on those shenanigans very soon!), and overdid it just a tad, only to have to teach MORE canoeing the next day. Racking canoes the day after deadlifting for the first time was not, I repeat, NOT a good idea.

By Friday, my back was one huge knot of pissed off. As the icing on my cake of crazy… then, I had to move on Saturday.

Wop, Wop.

What’s the point of all this, you ask?

I officially “worked out” (as in a stand alone, go to the gym workout) all of once last week. I did my lifting at personal training and had every intention of running at least 4 times, but it just didn’t happen.

Had I not been canoeing out in the sun, I’m sure I would have run, but instead I counted my 2 hours of paddle time per day as cross training and let it go.

So, I took my first zero week of the year, and I don’t feel bad about it. I’d say 8 hours of canoeing, a heavy lifting session, and moving make for a decent week of workouts!

That being said, I went on my first run in over a week yesterday, and it only proved that I need running in my life. After a week of stress, it all melted away, and the world made sense again.

People ask me all the time how I can run so much and not get bored. For me, running is pure joy. Running allows me to clear my head, to sort through whatever questions I’m facing, to center myself, and to spend time with just me.

I absolutely love setting a goal and working toward it, but sometimes it’s nice to let go of any expectations and run for the pure happiness it brings me.

This was one of those runs.

The next time life gets crazy (which may or may not be next week…), and I feel like I don’t have time to run, I won’t feel guilty if I miss a couple of planned runs. But, I will look back to this run and remember that time spent on the roads, even a precious few minutes, is worth it every time.

Thanks for hanging in there while life is hectic – I really miss the online community I’ve become a part of, and I can’t wait to be back for good! I hope to be back to normal blogging, tweeting, Facebooking, and more within the next couple of weeks!

3 thoughts on “Holy Craziness, Batman!

    • Exactly! And I have a feeling that soon enough weights might give running a run for it’s money. See what I did there…? 😉

  1. you may not have been ‘working out’ but you certainly were moving, exercising and being active! it may be a 0 miles week but i’m sure the nike fuel band would tell ya that you still burned those calories. 🙂 best of luck with your upcoming crazy week too!!

Leave a Reply

