Post-Marathon Week Training Recap

No, I don’t plan on continuing these now that I’m not currently training for anything, and likely won’t be for another few weeks. But, I thought it might be useful or helpful to look back and see how I felt after the marathon, so here we go!

  • Monday: REST!
  • Tuesday: REST!
  • Wednesday: 3 miles @10:28
  • Thursday: 40 minutes cross training (elliptical, stairs, bike)
  • Friday: 2 miles @ 11:45
  • Saturday: Girls on the Run 5k @ 10:00 (race recap coming soon!)
  • Sunday: 4 miles @ 9:52

Weekly Running Total: 12 miles

I have to say, I felt pretty darn good after the marathon! We had a decent walk back to the car – close to a  mile – after the race, and although it felt like torture at the time, I think it did me a lot of good. I was barely even sore on Monday, although I would say me and my muscles felt tired.

Tuesday, I felt almost back to normal, but still took it easy. By Wednesday, I was itching to run, and a GREAT run it was! I was a little stiff starting out, but I took it slow and as my legs loosened up, the stiffness melted away. The same thing went for all of my runs this week – started slow with some stiffness, but that went away quickly.

I’m so happy with the way I’m recovering post-marathon! I wouldn’t say I’m ready for any speedy, hilly, or long runs yet, but I’m very pleased with what I’m able to do already.

This coming week will be an interested one – I’ll be very busy at work (not to mention very ACTIVE at work – think back-to-back canoeing classes every day!), and we’re moving next weekend! I still plan on running 3-4 days, but if I don’t hit that mark, I’m not going to feel bad about it – I’ll still be getting my sweat on, and I know that despite how good I feel, my body isn’t quite ready to be pushed just yet…

… soon enough!

Leave a Reply

