Reflections on Personal Training, Vol. 1

“They” always say that you can’t just run to be a good runner. I had fair warning, I really did. Unfortunately, I’ve always been the kind of girl who has to make her own mistakes.

It’s been 6 weeks since I started working with a personal trainer and shifted my focus to strength training.

In 6 short weeks, I’ve dropped 6 lbs and 2 body fat percentage points. For me, that’s just the icing on the cake. Weight has never really captivated my interest.

This is what sold me:

6 short weeks ago, I came off of an 18-mile week that ended with a soul-crushingly painful long run. I felt weak, frustrated, and exhausted.

I’ve gone from running very slowly with extreme pain to crushing 8 minute miles and 18 mile long runs.

Last week, I ran 29 miles (including a half marathon!), completed two 60-minute strength sessions, and a cross training session. I feel alive, strong, and full of boundless energy.

Kettlebells, BOSU, TRX, planks, squats, lunges, shoulder press, seal crawl – if my first thought is, “This is going to hurt…”, I can’t get enough.

I’ve been converted.

For me, the road to strength training came through joining a gym, Life Time Fitness, and taking advantage of the free fitness assessment and personal training sessions that came with my new membership.

I’ve had access to complementary training sessions in the past, but never used them because I figured what’s the point of one session? Had I not been in such a sorry state and in need of a change, I’m not sure I would have taken advantage of my sessions this time around, either.

I went into my 2 training sessions thinking that I couldn’t afford personal training, and that I might learn a couple new exercises but not expecting much more than that.

What I got was so much more.

stay tuned for more reflections on personal training…

7 thoughts on “Reflections on Personal Training, Vol. 1

  1. I’m with you on this!! It’s essential to have a good trainer. But once you do, and once you get the form down. Oh boy! I’m killing those weights! It’s the first time I’ve really really felt strong in my life.

  2. How awesome!!! I’m at Life Time Fitness Easton and have been for almost two years now. I love it so much I’m working there now πŸ™‚ So glad LT has been great for you – and that you have had such a great training experience!!!

    • Yay! I absolutely LOVE LOVE LOVE Life Time – it is a bit pricy, but it’s totally worth it in my opinion! πŸ™‚ What do you do at Life Time Easton?

      • I’ve never actually had a paid membership to any gym before (always had free access due to college, etc), but now I will always measure every fitness place up to LT standards! I actually lead the Cycle Club at Life Time, and I should start teaching indoor cycling later this summer πŸ™‚

    • Umm, YES! What sorts of stuff do you do at the gym – free weights, machines, kettlebells, TRX, BOSU…other fun stuff I don’t know about yet? πŸ™‚

      I also keep track of all of my workouts on DailyMile.com, too – you should check it out!

  3. Pingback: Marathon Week Training Recap |

Leave a Reply

