Week 14 Training Recap

Training this week was pretty low key, thanks to THE BIG DAY on Sunday.

  • Monday: 60 minute Hip Hop Class
  • Tuesday: 5 speedy-ish miles @ 9:50
  • Wednesday: 3 miles @ 10:28, Solo strength session (details below!)
  • Thursday: 3 miles @ 10:44
  • Friday: Rest, roll, stretch!
  • Saturday: Rest, roll, stretch, hydrate!
  • Sunday: ATHENS HALF MARATHON! 2:14:59, + 5 miles pacing Carrie

Weekly Running Total: 29 miles

The week before a race is always a bit wonky. All sorts of random aches and pains come out to play with your head, and I had to keep reminding myself it just the “taper willies.” Monday, I rolled an ankle in Hip Hop class, and convinced myself that I had broken it. Dramatic, much? Thankfully, I had NOT fractured any bones, walked it off, and finished the class. It’s actually still a little tender, but doesn’t hurt at all when I run, just when I poke it.

Tuesday, I took my speedier run down a notch so I wouldn’t tire out my legs, and instead of hitting the Strictly Strength class on Wednesday morning, I ventured into the wild of the weight room alone for the first time since I started this strength adventure.

Up to this point, all of my strength sessions have either been with my personal trainer or a group class. I picked 6 exercises from the bajillion I’ve done with my trainer and hit them hard.

  • Cable Weighted Step Up – 3 sets of 12 (each side)
  • BOSU Squats – 3 sets of 15
  • Bicep Curl + Shoulder Press – 12 lbs, 3 sets of 10
  • Standing Tricep Extension – 12 lbs, 3 sets of 10
  • Towel Pikes – 3 sets of 12
  • Towel Skaters – 3 sets of 15

Success! I felt confident in each exercise and challenged myself without tiring out my body too much before race day. If anything, it’s nice to have a trainer around to force me to rest. I’m not so good at resting. I powered through all 6 exercises in no time at all, and I was pretty close to spent by the end.

As for the race itself, you’ll just have to stay tuned for the race recap

Leave a Reply

