The Shoe Affair

Every girl goes through it.

It’s a lot like finding “the one,” when it comes right down to it.

For some, it’s finding the perfect pair of pumps, platforms, or peep-toes.

For us runner girls, it’s finding the perfect shoe that you can depend on to get you through those hard training runs.

For awhile, I thought I had found it in these trusty hot pink-shoelaced beauties.

Yes, the Nike Free 5.0s served me well for their 500+ mile run. Oops.

But then it came to replace them, and I discovered that my beloved Nike had betrayed me. These puppies are discontinued. I searched high and low, and the only place they can be found is a sketchy Australian site. I have it bookmarked, but have yet to bite the bullet, because I just don’t trust it.

What’s a girl to do?

I turned to a shoe that’s always around, hoping that it would give me the same light as air, flying across the pavement feeling.

Sure, they’re fun colors, and while I like the Nike Free Run 2+ okay, they’re just no 5.0s. They’re good enough, but they just don’t give me that floating on air, PR-busting feeling that I’m looking for.

So, the search continued.

I am a Nike girl through and through, but I admit, the 5.0 betrayal led me to stray. Maybe the feeling I was looking for would be found elsewhere…

Oh, how I wanted to love you, Asics GEL Blur 33. I really hoped you’d be the one to swoop in and rescue me.

But it wasn’t meant to be. After a wonderous 3 mile run that had me professing my love for you all over my notebook, you dropped me like a bad habit the very next day, leaving me with a nasty bruise on my ankle, sore hips, and little hope that I would ever find that perfect fit. It’s not me, it’s you.

So, in my post-break up haze, and with very little time left to find “the one” before the big day, I did what every girl would do.

I went back to an ex.

So, I don’t get that floating on air feeling with you. I don’t get butterflies, and my feet don’t sing. But, you’re dependable. Maybe it’s not so much about that hot and heavy, love and leave you ‘tude. You’re always there for me when I need you, and you make my feet smile.

So for now, it’s just you and me, Nike Free. Here’s to hoping this turns into a beautiful partnership.

Leave a Reply

