Week 10 Training Recap

This one is coming a little late, but better late than never, right?

Has it really only been 10 weeks?!

It seems like ages ago that I started training for the Athens Half Marathon with a most ridiculously ambitious plan to which my body almost immediately proclaimed, “NO EFFIN WAY!”

I’ve been through a lot in the last 10 weeks. I ran a half marathon, got sidelined by IT band troubles, joined a gym, rejoined the running, and started working with a personal trainer on my total body strength.

While personal training sessions are definitely pricy, I learned sooo much in my 3 complementary sessions and sort of got addicted to strength training. I love that it’s a totally different way of pushing myself, and I love pushing through the discomfort, knowing that when I do, I’m that much stronger, and that much closer to my goals.

On top of simply loving every miserable minute of my sessions, I credit my recent focus on strength and cross training with getting back into the running game so quickly. I’m still taking the runs easy for the most part – staying away from hills and speed work to let the IT band rest – but I can tell that my glutes, adductors, and abductors are getting stronger and better able to withstand long runs by the day. A couple weeks ago, I started feeling ITB pain at mile 6, then mil 8. This past Sunday, I did a full 12 miles with no pain during or after. In fact, I even popped off 2 recovery miles the day after – I couldn’t even tell that I had done a long run the day before! Now, THAT is progress!

Here’s what week 10 had in store:

  • Monday: Rest!
  • Tuesday: 3 miles @ 11:15, 60 minute PT session
  • Wednesday: 3 miles @ 11:06
  • Thursday: 60 minute CRT class
  • Friday: 4 miles @ 9:50
  • Saturday: Rest
  • Sunday: 12 miles @ 11:30

Running Total: 22 miles

Another great week! No climbing, thanks to having the in-laws in town this weekend – we wanted to spend the day with them instead, and it was well worth it. More on that later…

“Marathon training” this time around has been quite the ride. While I still won’t be running the Athens Marathon, I’m cautiously optimistic about running the full Flying Pig after my amazing 12 miles this weekend. At this point, I’ll be taking it week by week – seeing how my long runs go and reevaluating from there, but assuming my IT band doesn’t rear it’s ugly head again, I think it’s on!

Up next weekend?

15 miles, baby!

Leave a Reply

