Friendspiration: Meet Gracie!

Friendspiration introduces you to the people who inspire me the most – my friends. Each and every one of them has amazing stories to tell, and have pushed me, in no small way, to be the person that I am today. I hope you enjoy meeting them all as much as I enjoy having them in my life!

My friend Gracie is in a league of her own. We met in grad school, when we were card-carrying members of the wRECking crew, and bonded quickly over 50 cent pizza slices, tutus, and rainy evening garbage bag slip & slides.

Beyond being one of the most caring, genuine, and truly encouraging people I know, Gracie is the epitome of inspiration. She’s been known to say that her trusty tutu has more life experience than the average politician, and it’s true. Gracie has accomplished some pretty amazing things (need proof? See here and here), but what is even more amazing is that while others would be arrogant and prideful thanks to these awe-inspiring feats, she is humbled by every amazing adventure she tackles. Gracie has been my rock in the past year, and has helped me tremendously in dealing with losing my Dad. It’s nice to have someone who “gets it,” and it’s even better when it’s someone who isn’t afraid to talk about it.

Even when we’re literally a world away from each other, she has the ability to change my entire perspective in the blink of an eye.  An e-mail here, a post-card there. I’ve never met anyone who so freely expresses her truest feelings, and it makes Gracie and everyone around her shine. She values friendship and adventure above all else, and never ceases to push the envelope, in both her relationships, her mind, and her physical limits, which (by the way…) continue to astound me.

This woman is unstoppable, and I’m so grateful and honored to be one of her partners on this amazing journey.

So, without further ado… meet Gracie!

Name your poison – what’s your activity of choice?

challenge gives my body and mind momentum – you might say challenge in itself has always been my poison – and running has been my most recent way of expressing it: seeking challenge, learning it, applying it, conquering it, letting it conquer me, being guided by it, being shaped by it.

What has this activity added to your life?

running has provided a venue for primitive and modern to breed, and the outcome adds both simplicity and the pursuit of new bounds to my everyday existence.  while i learn new things about running (techniques, its effects on my body, etc.), it constantly references primitive fundamentals; the two extremes blossom into a beautiful and healthy dichotomy.

What has challenged you most in your lifetime and how did you tackle it?

losing my daddy has been one of my biggest challenges, partly because i did not know what additional challenging ripple effects would result.  most other challenges in my life have been self-imposed and almost always calculated.  this loss was so far from that reality that it has taken time to realize that there is still ground underneath me on which i can – and should – breathe/stand/crawl/walk/run/tackle.

i am still reacquainting myself with the ground underneath me; sometimes just one breath at a time, and sometimes one half-marathon at a time.  and learning that there are still countless beauties in even the ugliest challenges.

What is your biggest accomplishment thus far?

my biggest accomplishment thus far is learning from love lost.

What goals are you currently working toward or would you like to accomplish in your lifetime?

my new husband and i just bought a house and we would like to pay that off in record time.  but what really gets my heart beating is my desire to run across australia with a loved one or four by my side.

Who or what inspires you the most?

my friends are my greatest inspiration, as each one has taught me in a different way to be patient in times of dire challenge and distress; to persevere; to choose to find things about which i can be grateful every day; to be true to our hearts; to provide a peerless balance of challenge and support; and to love with reckless abandon.

Favorite quote?

sorry, gotta give two:

Where there is no joy there can be no courage; and without courage all other virtues are useless.

{ Edward Abbey }

What do you expect us to die of?  Old age??

{ Secondhand Lions }

One thought on “Friendspiration: Meet Gracie!

  1. Pingback: Race Recap: Athens Half Marathon! «

Leave a Reply

