Week 9 Training Recap

TRX, kettlebells, BOSU – oh, sh….

At least that’s what my muscles were saying on Tuesday.

I kicked off the week with my free “FitPoint” – a free fitness assessment that came with my new Life Time membership. I was a little nervous, having never done one before, but also really excited to have some numbers to look at and a clearer direction on where to go from here.

A personal trainer took my height and weight, tested my bicep strength and flexibility (sit & reach), estimated my body fat percentage using a 3-point skinfold method (tricep, suprailiac, thigh), and estimated my VO2 max on a treadmill.

Once the tests were done and my results had popped out, we sat down and chatted, first about my results. Turns out I have a good BMI, although after telling me that he immediately crossed it out and said it wasn’t worth anything – the first sign that I was gonna like this PT. Good body fat percentage, around 21%. Fair bicep strength, although Mr. PT said that he wasn’t too worried about that one either – that will easily improve with strength training and doesn’t necessarily mean I’m a weakling. Horribly and comically awful flexibility – coulda told you that one. Decent enough cardiovascular fitness, although there is certainly some improvement to be had.

After he went over my results, it was my turn to talk. He asked about my current fitness plans and what sort of goals I’m working toward. I mentioned running, my recent IT band woes, and my goal of a 4:30 marathon. Mr. PT jotted down notes and explained a little more about heart rate training in a way that finally made sense to me. I still have some questions, but the light is finally on.

After chatting, we got down to business – 30 minutes of TRX & kettlebells. I loved the HELL out of every minute of it, and I’m not sure I’ve ever been that sore. Shoulders, arms, butt, hamstrings, quads. All of it. Lemme tell you, it felt GREAT.

I wont lie, I was a bit worried about the 60 minute session I had planned for Wednesday. I was still impossibly sore, but as soon as I got to work, the soreness went away. This time, we used the cable machines, some in conjunction with a BOSU, did some BOSU squats (my favorite of the day), and did some hip strengthening stuff. Again, I loved every sweat-dripping, muscle screaming second of it.

I have one last free session on Tuesday. I’m hoping to work at least one or two sessions a month into the budget, but realistically even that may be a stretch. I’ve only done two sessions, and I’m kind of already addicted! It’s a totally different way to push myself, and I’m lovin’ it.

As for the rest of the week…

  • Monday: Fitness Assessment + 30 min strength session with Personal Trainer – TRX & Kettlebells, ITB exercises.
  • Tuesday: 3 miles @ 11:04
  • Wednesday: 60 minute total body session with Personal Trainer – too much goodness to list, ITB exercises
  • Thursday: 6 miles @ 11:36
  • Friday: 3 miles @, 20 minute WU/CD on elliptical, core, ITB exercises
  • Saturday: climb, 25 minute walk
  • Sunday: 8 miles @ 11:29, ITB exercises

Weekly Running Total: 20 miles

Today is actually my first rest day in 13 days. Whoops. I don’t plan on making a habit of this, but I have to say that it’s been a great (almost) two weeks of workouts. I’ve had some high quality workouts and runs that have challenged me (man, did they!), without leaving me completely spent.

I love a rest day, but I’m ready to get back to it tomorrow.

One thought on “Week 9 Training Recap

Leave a Reply

