Week 7 Training Recap: The Week of the Comeback

That’s right, I am among the running again.

And let me tell you, it fells pret-ty good.

I ran outside for for the first time on Friday afternoon, and it was absolutely glorious. I set the screen on my Garmin to display distance and time of day only, since I suspected that seeing my current and average pace was actually stressing me out and hindering my abilities more than helping. As it turns out, I was right.

I set out for 4 miles around my neighborhood and ran quite possibly the most even splits EVER. NO, really. Mile 1 in 10:00, and the next 3 miles all came in at 9:54. Running by feel is where it’s at, yo! While I definitely dig having the stats to dissect after the fact, I loved not knowing anything but how far I’d gone. If I really want to, I can do the math based on the time, but math gets fuzzy in my head the longer I run, so it’s really not that tempting. I’m sure once I start speedwork again in the future, I’ll look at my current pace, but for now, I’m going to enjoy running by feel.

  • Monday: 30 min elliptical, legs (weighted squats, lunges, adductor/abductor, hammies) + core
  • Tuesday: Rest, ITB exercises. Sore legs!
  • Wednesday: 30 min elliptical (warm up/cool down), 3 miles @ 10:44, arms (biceps, triceps, shoulders) + core
  • Thursday: 30 minute elliptical, ITB exercises. Sore calves!
  • Friday: 4 miles @ 9:55
  • Saturday: Climbing – 4 routes and some fun splashing around in the pool
  • Sunday: 10 miles @ 11:34, Climbing – 5 routes, ITB exercises

Weekly Running Total: 17 miles

I met up with Carrie for our Sunday Long Runday. She was doing 16, and I planned on doing 5. At 5, I felt great, so I kept on trucking for TEN WHOLE PAIN-FREE MILES! It was so wonderful to feel comfortable – like I could have gone on for at least 5 more. It was one of those runs that makes me feel immensely grateful.

I followed up my first long run in about 3 weeks with a session at the climbing wall, and while I was tired it was a great way to stretch everything out, and I really didn’t notice much difference in my ability to climb.

It was a great week  overall – running, cross training, and strength training. I had some very sore calves after focusing a lot on a mid/forefoot strike on the treadmill and some pretty heavy leg work early in the week, so my Tommie Copper sleeves were never far away – they helped ease the soreness like you wouldn’t believe.

It never hurts to throw in a mid-week birthday, either. I treated myself to these s’mores bars, the best Pinterest find ever. You’re welcome, by the way.

 As for my goals now that I’m back? I still plan on running the Athens half marathon, but am starting to think that I may have a spring marathon in me after all. I don’t want to jump the gun too quickly, and even though my ten miler this week went well, I don’t think I’ll be significantly upping that long run mileage until I have few more solid weeks of running behind me. That being said, I still have 12 weeks until pigs fly, and I think I may just be able to make it happen if I’m smart about it.

For now, all I can say that is that I’m ecstatic to be running again at all!

3 thoughts on “Week 7 Training Recap: The Week of the Comeback

  1. YAY!!!!! This is such a happy post to read!! Way to get your mojo back – and to rock your 5 miles so much that you just kept on going!! Best feeling in the world, huh?

  2. Pingback: Week 10 Training Recap «

Leave a Reply

