THIS is Why I Love #FitFluential

I went on 2 very horrible runs today. I had 8 miles on the schedule, and I started out feeling miserable. It felt like I was running into an intense headwind that wasn’t there – my legs were heavy, my breathing was labored, and I just felt gross.

Yeah, a lot like that.

So, I stopped at mile 4. Feeling like a wimp, I went out later for a redemption run to finish what I started. At first it was more of the same, but finally I settled in a groove (a much slower groove) and started feeling less like death.

My thoughts were racing – am I training too hard? Is something wrong with me? How am I going to be able to run a freakin’ marathon if I feel like this on a measly 4 mile run?

Even as that last thought floated through my mind, I almost immediately dismissed it. Of course I can run 26.2 miles. I’ve done it before, and guess what? I had those exact same thoughts then. I may not be able to run 26.2 miles in 4:30:00 today, but I certainly will someday, even if it’s not April 1st.

 And suddenly it struck me. Based on the McMillan paces I’m supposedly using, my easy workouts and recovery runs are simply too fast. So fast that they’re wearing me out, making it nearly impossible to hit the faster paces in my harder and more important workouts.

I came home feeling a little better about things. I had an idea about where this sudden awfulness was coming from, so Ian and I celebrated my determination to stick it out with dinner at Mellow Mushroom – our first time! I treated myself to two slices, and we brought it on home to enjoy an evening on the couch.

Gratuitous photo of pizza because I can... and because it was damn good pizza, grease and all.

As I clicked through my Google Reader, I came upon fellow FitFluential Ambassador Dorothy‘s post, “My Fastest Tempo Yet: Do You Tempo?”  The following words figuratively leapt off the screen and slapped me across the face, Slapsgiving style:

The mistake I see runners make most often is going too fast on their slow runs and too slow on their fast runs.They then wonder why they show up to the marathon and don’t pr.

They over cross train. They over lift. They do do do and sometimes running is in what you don’t do. It’s about holding back when you need to and putting all your effort into the runs that you are supposed to.

Well, hello there, Universe. Nice to know that you’re paying attention.

But back to the main point here. I love being a part of the FitFluential family because whether they know it or not, my fellow Ambassadors are always there for me – for inspiration, support, advice, and sometimes a swift kick in the pants to stop being such an idiot and back the heck off before I hurt myself. In my first few weeks as  Fitfluential Ambassador, I’ve experienced an exceptional community of like-minded yet diverse people, and this evening’s fortuitously timed post over at Mile Posts shows me that I have found an amazing group of people, and that I have a lot more learning, growing, and inspiring to do –  as i f I didn’t know that already! It’s my hope that I too can be a source of inspiration, advice, and a shoulder to lean on for my fellow Ambassadors and to the greater fitness and running world in general. I may not be an expert on training or the fastest runner out there, but in part because FitFluential saw something in me, I am confident that I have a significant contribution to make.

So, thank you Dorothy and all my fellow #FitFluential Ambassadors. We’ve got some work to do, and I can’t wait to get started!

P.S. – Yeah, yeah I did my 7 burpees and :45 side planks, too. I’m too afraid of Scott and the Plank Police not to. All the more reason to hate er, love Fitfluential!

6 thoughts on “THIS is Why I Love #FitFluential

    • Thank you! And yes, it’s really frustrating to struggle with something that was so easy just a few days ago. Thankfully, I’m on my way to a solution, and reinvigorated to tackle this head on! 🙂

  1. Yay Fitfluential! Such a great community, seriously, you hit on so many of the reasons why I adore it as well. I’m not even a runner and I can see how any runner would gain SO MUCH from the members of this group in the form of helpful blog posts, motivating tweets, and more. And I’ve always wanted to try Mellow Mushroom b/c I hear a lot about it in the blog world, but don’t live near one. Looks yum!

  2. Pingback: Marathon 2, Week 2 Training Recap «

Leave a Reply

