Marathon 2: Week 1 Training Recap

Week 1 is done!

I had originally planned to start training in January, but in the spirit of #livewellNOW, I decided to officially start training during the last week of December. I did hold off on some of the more intense elements of my training program – I had declared December a “recovery” month after running 3 half marathons and a 10k in the span of 2.5 months and PRing in almost every single one of ’em.

So, the first week of marathon#2 training looked like this…

  • Monday: 6 miles @ 10:16 min/mile
  • Tuesday: Quickie strength (planks, supermans, push-ups, and more)
  • Wednesday: 5 miles @ 9:57
  • Thursday: Rest
  • Friday: 4 miles @ 10:25, Quickie strength (planks, push-ups, supermans, and more)
  • Saturday: 2 miles @ 9:45
  • Sunday: 13.1 miles @ 10:19 (the Liberty Half Marathon)

Weekly Total: 30 miles

This is the first time I’ve hit 30 miles since the week of my first marathon back in September. My first week of training for marathon #2 is equal to my highest mileage week in training for marathon #1. I think this is a GREAT sign that I’ve come a long way since then, and bodes well for a much better marathon in terms of being prepared to tackle 26.2 miles come April 1st.

Thankfully, that feeling of being overtrained has subsided. I took an entire week off at the beginning of December, which was more than a little torturous for me. I know it was necessary to kick that heavy leg feeling, but I just love running – a week without it was difficult. For the rest of December, I tried to take it easy in terms of intensity while steadily ramping up miles in anticipation of marathon training.

My first long run of training was 13 miles, and went really well, but I won’t recap again – you can read more about it in my race recap!

I'm so fast, I blur... ha!

Overall, I feel great – rested and ready for the next 13 weeks!

Leave a Reply

