Recovery

Oh, man. Recovery is hard.

It’s been exactly one week since I last ran. After an entire year of training for one race or another, it’s a little weird not having a training schedule to follow, but it was time for a big break. Taking a zero week may have been a teensy extreme, but it’s all too easy for me say, “oh, it’s just one run.” And before I know it, I’ve run 4 or 5 days a week.

I guess the problem is that I just love running. It’s my go-to stress reliever, celebration, frustration outlet, cry-fest. Anytime something major happens, my first thought is usually, “I should go for a run!” That being said, running hadn’t been quite as much fun in the last month, so a break was necessary, physically and mentally. I was anticipating going stir crazy, but life kept me pretty busy and my body reconfirmed that I was doing the right thing by not running – I came down with a pretty nasty cold on Tuesday. No way would I have run in that condition anyway, and I’m hoping that getting this sickness out of my system will mean a healthy and happy training cycle in early 2012.

Now that I’m no longer hacking up a lung or blowing snot all over the place, I’m psyched for my first run tomorrow. I’m planning on taking it easy until the beginning of the year, with lots of watchless runs and nothing over 10 miles or so. The hope is that I feel refreshed and ready for marathon training come January 1st.

In the meantime, I plan on enjoying the evening in true recovery style… wine, pork chops, and cheesy Christmas movies.

One thought on “Recovery

Leave a Reply

