2011

This year was a doozy. I mean, really – a doozy. I see it as the year of extremes. In these 365 er, 335 days, I experienced both the highest highs and lowest lows of my short life: Finishing my first half marathon, and then 3 more. Moving my Dad into a nursing home and starting hospice care. Losing Dad. Finishing my first full marathon. Raising $1000 for hospice care. Marrying my best friend.

Back when I set my goals for the new year, I knew that 2011 would be a big one. After some thought, I settled on these goals for the year:

  1. Worry less, laugh more. (It was a challenging year for this, but I somehow succeeded)
  2. Lots of quality time, especially with family and friends. (Check!)
  3. Volunteer more (GIRLS ON THE RUN!) (Check!)
  4. At least 10 races specifically…  (Check! In fact, I ran 11 races in 2011!)
  5. 13.1 – Flying Pig, May 1st. (Check!)
  6. 26.2 –  Air Force Marathon, Sept 17th. (Check, and check!)
  7. Warrior Dash – Logan, Jun 5th.  (Check!)
  8. Swimming & biking.
  9. Travel! (Check! San Francisco bachelorette party and hopefully another NorCal adventure for New Years!)

So, that leaves me with just #8 – swimming & biking. While I originally wanted to mix in some swim and bike workouts in the hopes of attempting a small triathlon, I’ve decided that at least for the foreseeable future, triathlons aren’t for me. I still hope to start swimming as soon as a gym membership can be a part of our budget, but right now, it’s just not in the cards. As for biking, I just plain and simple don’t like it as much as running. I do it every now and then, but that’s about it.

So, of my 9 goals for 2011, I accomplished 8 of them, and the only one I didn’t meet turned out to be a non-goal anyway.

Yep, 2011 was a big year. But, I have a feeling that 2012 will give it a run for the money…

Leave a Reply

