And Here We Are…

The last long run before I hightail it!!

12 miles. I ran 12 miles yesterday. And rather than get carried away with pace and mile splits, I’d rather just think about how far I’ve come in the past 2o weeks.

this is what you do when you dont have a Garmin - use street names as mile markers...

In December, my long run was 3 miles.

Now, in April, my long run is 4 times that. And you know what. It was hard. Hard, but not deathly. Not omgimgonnadie hard. Just… comfortably hard.

Sure, I could have run it faster. But this is it. The last long run before my first half marathon, and a lot (A LOT!) has happened in my life in these last 20 weeks, so I wanted to cherish it.

Don’t get me wrong, here – I was spent. I learned what people mean when they say they had, ahem “stomach issues.” But, it was pretty awesome to have run 12 miles and be no worse for wear.

yay for dirt lines... also, welcome to my parents bathroom.

In 2 weeks, I’ll run a half marathon, and it will be a celebration – a triumph of determination over laziness, of strength over weakness, of recognizing the benefits of hard work over taking the easy road, the beginning of a brand new chapter…

… and I can’t wait…

6 thoughts on “And Here We Are…

  1. Awesome job on your 12 miles! I love that you wrote out the street names on your arm πŸ™‚ I did the couch 2 5K plan last summer and used to write all of the intervals out on my hand/arm–always felt so silly running and looking at them and my watch, but whatcha gonna do?! πŸ˜‰ You will ROCK the half-marathon!

    • Eee, I totally agree!! And speaking of Ah-MAZE-ing : Miss I-just-ran-20-miles-no-sweat! Getting sooo excited!! πŸ™‚ We should keep in touch about a meet-up…

  2. Pingback: Race Recap: The Flying Pig 1/2 Marathon! |

Leave a Reply

