She’s BAAAACCK!

For the first time in  25 days, I ran.

Like, for realsies went for a run.

I’m calling it the Inaugural Does Janene Still Have It? 5k. I started out by walking .8 miles at a 6.0 incline on the ‘mill, and then let it rip.

And, how.

I ended up running 2.3 miles in 25:08. For those of you who are math challenged –

That’s a 10:55 pace.

But here’s where the real fun happens…

IT WAS EASY. Like, easy peasy, lemon squeezy. Piece of cake. Barely-broke-a-sweat kinda easy.

Let me now remind you that when I got injured my “comfortable” pace was around, oh, 12 – 12:30 minutes per mile.

Today, I felt like I was running a 12:30 mile. I could have kept going indefinitely at that pace. If I wasn’t mindful of not pushing my foot too hard on the first one, I probably would have.

Instead, I hopped off the ‘mill, and proceeded to ride the wave of the runner’s high into a solid 30 minutes on the bike and an intense upper arm circuit. I was simply unstoppable today.

5 words:

CROSS TRAINING FOR THE WIN!!!!

——

Right after I got off the treadmill, I headed over to Ian, who was stretching it out, lookin’ all cute and sweaty. As we stretched together, I looked out the window and said “Aww, it’s so pretty out there!” Ian looked at me like I had 4 heads and 13 hands.

All I could do was grin sheepishly and say…

I love running!

3 thoughts on “She’s BAAAACCK!

  1. Wow! Good job!
    I’m just back from an injury and I’m really having hard time right now getting my cardio back.
    If you have some advice please come over and leave me a comment.
    Thanks!

  2. Welcome back to running!! And congrats on an awesome run 🙂 Your cross training must really be paying off – that is a great improvement in a short period of time!

  3. SO happy for you that you are back in commission!! It has been one injury after another for me lately, and I know how frustrating it can be…I’m sure you’re elated right now! 🙂 And congrats on your speedy pace!!

Leave a Reply

