What I Did On My Rest Day, Or Carbomb Cupcakes

Yes, that’s right.

Carbomb cupcakes. Be warned: they are NOT for the faint of heart.

Ian’s parents tried these at a ball they went to a few months ago (yes, a ball – they’re classy like that ). Mama promised to provide all the fixins and her kitchen if we provided the workforce. I’d say that’s a deal. Can I just say that my (future) mother-in-law is awesome? Seriously. I really lucked out on that front. We’re kinda like besties.

So, Tristan (the brother-in-law) and I attacked them in full force. We used the recipe above (I’m in love with Smitten Kitchen, btw) with some changes. For instance, we doubled the amount of Bailey’s in the icing and less sugar. We doubled the amount of whiskey in the ganache. We did not double the amount of Guinness, but Tristan did say he might make a cups worth of Guinness reduction and use that in the next batch of cupcakes for more of a draught kick.

The secret’s out of the bag – we used Jim Beam instead of real Irish whiskey. It seemed silly, not to mention dangerous to go out and buy a bottle for only a few teaspoons!

While we waited for the cupcakes to bake, we enjoyed watching the snow fall outside. What could be better than enjoying a snow day and the promise of baked goods?

ZOMG. I wish this blog was equipped with smell-o-vision, cuz words cannot describe how delicious these smelled.

Mmm – chocolate Guinness cupcakes, just waiting to be filled with whiskey-infused chocolate ganache!

Done and done!

We planned on piping the ganache in with a pastry bag, but we let it get a little too thick and it busted the bag. So, we used teaspoons instead. No pictures of that – it was a four hand job!

This icing? the. bomb. Every pun intended. It tastes just like Bailey’s, and complemented the rest of the cupcake so well. I added the powedered sugar 1 tablespoon at a time, all TWO cups of it! In case you’re keeping track, that’s 32 tablespoons! It took awhile, but it was totally worth it. We ended up using 1-2 cups less sugar, and doubled the Baileys for an extra kick! Apparently, this is the way the pros do it – it thickens up really well and uses less sugar!

Tristan was actually going to use some of these for a photo shoot he’s doing this weekend, so we spent a fair bit of time piping them so that they looked magazine worthy.

Apparently, my piping form includes becoming a turtle. Always classy, this one. But, this shot does show how we got that lovely height on the icing – we piped a little blob in the middle, then went around it to get a nice happy little dome.

Hey, brother! Bonus points for those who can cite that quote.

Skippy, of course, supervised these cupcake shenanigans. He’s very good at it.

Perfect-o!

Check out that whiskey goodness in the center…

When Tristan finishes the shoot, I’ll share the final product with you guys. He’s very talented, so I’m excited to see the what he comes up with!

As for me, I had one cupcake when they were done, but I uh, sampled a little too fervently during the cupcake production, and felt sick due to sugar overload. 5 hours later, I could barely even think about food, but I whipped together a crazy salad that ended up being just eh thing to bring me out of the sugar doldrums: spring mix, broccoli, zucchini, pineapple salsa, and cottage cheese. Yum!

I declare this a very successful rest day, indeed.

5 thoughts on “What I Did On My Rest Day, Or Carbomb Cupcakes

    • You bet! I was obsessed with Arrested Development for awhile, but I went through a 12-step program and everything’s okay now, hehe! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

