The Friday 5!

The 5 miler was finally upon me! I’m not sure why, but I’ve actually been looking forward to this run for weeks. Maybe because this is definitely the farthest I’ve ever run (ever!)? Because running 5 miles means I’m a real runner?

Confessions of a true red-head: I already felt like a real runner. I AM a real runner. Shhh, don’t tell anyone. 😉

Anyway, I really wanted to do this one outside, but alas – we got another 4-5 inches of snow yesterday! I had high hopes; I even got all dolled up, ventured out… and promptly fell flat on my butt. Outside running was a no go.

So I hopped into the car and made my way to the gym! Of course, by hopped into, I mean spent 25 minutes scraping snow and ice off it. But whatevs.

I decided to do part of it on the treadmill and part on the indoor track. I ended up doing miles 1-3 on the ‘mill, took a 40 second break to pop a Clif Shot Blok, slurp some water, readjust the iPod, and head upstairs to the track, where 12 laps = 1 mile.

I definitely pushed myself in mile 4, and ended up with the fastest split of the day, before I went back down to the treadmill to finish the last mile. I can barely keep track of 12 laps, much less 24, thankyouverymuch.

So, how did it go, you ask? Well, I felt like this when I got home…

So, you tell me how it went! 😀

Splits:

Mile 1 – 12:49

Mile 2 – 12:25

Mile 3 – 11:55

Mile 4: 11:49

Mile 5: 12:46

 

Later today, Ian and I went in search of a sled, but no dice. I did pick up this little guy at Tractor Supply, though! He’s chilling on my bedside table as a reminder of my goal…

He makes me happy. I might make him some } wings { – hehe!

Do you keep anything around as a reminder of your goal?

6 thoughts on “The Friday 5!

  1. woohoo! congrats on your 5 miles 🙂 that is definitely something to celebrate!

    the desktop on my computer right now is an ad for the disney princess half that i’m working towards 🙂 it makes me smile every time i see it!

  2. You WERE a runner before – the five miles is an awesome accomplishment though!! Congrats 🙂

    I love the little pig! What a cute reminder – I need to find something like that, it’s a good way to keep your goal in front of you every day.

  3. You have come a long way! 😀 Very Inspiring! 5 miles is Definitely that magic number, I get that. I hope that I can be a true distant runner, some day 🙂 Practice makes perfect..or something like that lol.

    • Thank you so much! It’s great to look back and see how far I’ve come, and in such a relatively short time period. It continues to amaze me how the body and mind adapt to new challenges. Yesterday was my second ever 20 mile training run, and I remember walking a LOT in my first 20-miler and then being a worthless lump on the couch after the first one. Yesterday, I ran every single step, went out to celebrate a friend’s birthday, killed a strength session this morning!

      I still wonder who I am and what I’ve done with the old me! The key is to just keep moving forward, no matter how slowly it seems to be happening – before you know it, you’ve surpassed your wildest dreams!

      Thanks for contacting me – I’m excited to follow along with your training, too!

Leave a Reply

