New Year’s Goals

Happy 2011, everyone!

I’ve been thinking a lot about 2010 + 2011.

This last year was a very big one for me in many ways:

Ian & I got engaged,
I ran my first ever race, the Run to Empower 5k and fell in love with running,

I became an aunt,
… and I finished 2 Master’s degrees!

But… even with all that awesomeness going on in 2010, I’m confidant that 2011 will be even bigger and better. While I’m a little leary of “resolutions” in the strictest sense, I’m a big goal-setter. So, in lieu of “resolutions,” I’ve decided to write out a list of goals that I’d like to accomplish in my life overall, and then, each year, I’ll select goals from that list to focus on that year.This year’s goals are (drumroll please!) …

  1. Worry less & laugh more.
  2. Finish a 1/2 marathon at the Cincinnati Flying Pig on May 1st!
  3. Finish a full 26.2 at the Air Force Marathon on September 17th!
  4. Do a Warrior Dash in Logan, Ohio on June 5th … if the registration system will finally cooperate done!
  5. Train for a triathlon, and, if all goes well, do the Cincinnati Sprint Triathlon on July 24th!

I’m very excited for 2011, and very optimistic about my goals. This year’s goals focus mostly on fitness, and the two biggies are definitely the 1/2 marathon & marathon. I’m hoping the tri “training” will give me productive and fun cross training, and we’ll see how it goes in terms of actually doing an official tri. At the very least, I’m excited to start swimming and to take biking a little more seriously. And let’s not forget about my wedding in October!! 2011’s biggest party is pretty high up on my countdown list! 😉

What are you excited about in 2011?

2 thoughts on “New Year’s Goals

  1. Wow, it sounds like 2010 was a huge year for you, but 2011 might top it! In 2011 I plan to run my first 10k and my first half marathon. I’m also looking forward to attending some weddings of friends and family 🙂

  2. Pingback: 2011 « One Run at a Time

Leave a Reply

