Go One More, Yeah Yeah!

My iPod and I have a somewhat tenuous relationship. When I first started running, I wouldn’t even think of leaving home for a run without it. But as time went by, and I actually started enjoying running, I found myself leaving it at home more and more. For awhile there, its only redeeming quality was the Nike Fitness program that tracked my mileage and pace. Even that became less important, as running became more and more integral to my life, and I cared less and less about exact paces or mileage.

That being said, there’s nothing like a good running play list! While most of the time, I leave the music at home, I do still use music as a motivator every now and then when I might need a pick-me-up. I made a few new play lists of varying lengths the other day, and thought I’d share some of my favorite running tunes with you. Be forewarned, my musical taste (especially in running music…) is allll over the map…

Disclaimer: It’s important to think long and hard about using music at all when running on roads. I run on some country back roads, and it can be hard to hear even the loudest cars with earplugs in. I usually save my tunes for the dreadmill, where I don’t have to worry about getting run over.

And without further ado…

1. Anything by Superchick, but especially “One More.”

2. Firework, by Katy Perry

3. The Dog Days are Over, by Florence + The Machine (… or Glee)

4. Freckles, by Natasha Bedingfield

5. Boy With A Coin, by Iron & Wine

6. Days Go By, Dirty Vegas

7. Sexx Laws, Beck

8. Bad Romance, Lady Gaga (… or Glee)

9. Gives You Hell, All-American Rejects (… or Glee)

10. Here It Goes Again, OK GO (on treadmills, no less!)

I get really into planning out my play lists to maximize inspiration. For example, “One More” is usually the last song on my play list, mostly because the lyrics are just amazing, and perfect for one last strong push. Yeah, I’m a nerd.  So sue me. 😀

What are your favorite running tunes?

4 thoughts on “Go One More, Yeah Yeah!

  1. I almost always have to have music to run, unless I’m running with someone else and we can talk. Good running music just keeps me going!

    Any Lady Gaga is my favorite – I skip through to find her songs when I’m struggling. I also love “Here It Goes Again” – I always picture the music video with the treadmills 🙂 A lot of music I listen to when I run is stuff I never listen to any other time, and I’m almost embarassed to admit some of them – Britney Spears, Miley Cyrus, Rihanna, any dance music really.

    • Yeah, I definitely have some guilty pleasure music on my iPod… of course, it’s purely for my running enjoyment! Really though, I do think it’s funny that my “normal” taste in music is so different than my “running” taste – I tend towards the pop/dance stuff for running, too!

Leave a Reply

