Reverb #8: Different

Yup. I’m different. Just ask my friends. Or fiance. Or parents.

I stick my tongue out a lot, but only to the left. I think racerback sports bras are infinitely more sexy than push up bras. I wear bruises, scrapes, and scars like badges of honor. I flip my pillow over in the middle of the night to get at the cold side. I make mistakes and sometimes don’t learn from them. I’m rejuvenated by pushing my physical limits. I hate socks. I love bandannas. I have ice climbed a silo. I don’t really make any sense and I don’t think anyone else should either – it’s more fun that way.

I like to think i live in the moment, but I’m still working on that one. I am completely head-over-heels punch drunk in love with the Pacific Northwest. I have a favorite CD, and it’s not one you can buy in the stores, or anywhere, for that matter. I’ve been known to eat saltines & butter like chips & dip – don’t judge, it’s a childhood memory kinda thing.

I used to be the girl who was wary of animals, even though they were cute. I’ve since turned into that little girl who chases poor puppies around until they submit to her sometimes heavy-handed love. I make strange noises on an hourly basis and spontaneously burst into song at least 10 ten times a day.

I would choose sleeping in a tent under the stars and a blanket of snow over a 5 star hotel most days of the year. I’m a tomboy who cries at commercials, sappy love songs, romantic comedies, and just about everything. I feel a lot, sometimes I think perhaps too much. I absolutely despise it when other people attempt to define my limits, in any way, shape or form. I see these limits as dares, and I’ll accept any challenge, so be careful what you tell me I can’t do.

I’m proud to be a woman in a man’s field, even if it’s sometimes mind-numbingly frustrating and occasionally unfair; usually, though, it’s amazing and I’m grateful for it. I consider myself honored to be a role-model for other women, and strive to do so every day.

Different? Yeah, sure.

Beautifully flawed and wonderfully complicated? Definitely.

2 thoughts on “Reverb #8: Different

  1. “I would choose sleeping in a tent under the stars and a blanket of snow over a 5 star hotel most days of the year. I’m a tomboy who cries at commercials, sappy love songs, romantic comedies, and just about everything.”
    I really identified with this! Thanks for sharing–this reverb10 project is inspiring!
    TJ

Leave a Reply

