Race Recap: Run To Empower 5k (My First Race!)

Well. This is certainly awkward. I mean, there I went and said I was going to be blogging more, and promptly disappeared for another week. Or more. How embarrassing.

But in my defense, life has been absolutely, certifiably, 110% bonkers around here. I have about 4 weeks + a week of “finals” left of grad school, and in those 4 short weeks, I have to defend & revise a thesis, finish, present, & revise a leadership project, and in the meantime, keep up with my 2 classes and put in 8 hours a week for my graduate scholarship. I turned in my thesis manuscript Sunday morning, after 4 consecutive 13+ hour days of whipping the little bugger into shape. Can you say S-T-R-E-S-S-F-U-L?

The good news is that I RAN MY FIRST EVER RACE on Saturday, October 9th, 2010! That’s right, I partook in the Race to Empower 5k in good ole’ Athens, Ohio. Proceeds from the race go to the Empower Campaign, an educational initiative in Africa, so not only did I get to run my first race, but I also contributed a little something to make getting to school for Ugandan children just a bit easier.

The race itself was great! Going into it, I was a bit worried, since I hadn’t run in about a week, and before that my training had been sporadic thanks to a weird shin/calf injury I had going, but the miles flew by, and before I knew it we were 2 miles in. It was much hotter than Ian or I were expecting, and being out on the bikepath made it that much more noticeable, but all in all, it was a raging success, I’d say! We both finished in 34 minutes and some change, which I was happy with. Not so fast, but about the same as I had been running before my shin started acting up, so I was pleased!

Depending on how my leg is feeling in the next couple of days, we may be signing up for another 5k on Halloween. Half-marathon training has been un-officially suspended, due more to the sheer insanity of life at this point, but I’d like to see how the leg holds up before I make a final decision about anymore races. It didn’t hurt at all during the race, but was pretty sore on Sunday. When I went to have it looked at, they said it was most likely a tendon sprain and that I should “try not” to run for 6 – 8 weeks, whatever that means. Well, that didn’t exactly happen (I know, I know), but I’d still like to play the “better somewhat safe than really sorry” card.

I know I’ve said this before, but I really do want to continue blogging more. It really (REALLY!) helps me to stay motivated and inspired, and I need some of that right now.

How do you stay motivated and/or inspired when life seems to get in the way of your best intentions? I’d love to hear some of your tips! 🙂

One thought on “Race Recap: Run To Empower 5k (My First Race!)

  1. Pingback: New Year’s Goals |

Leave a Reply

